How I Got to This Point

Over the past 8 months I have been following a weight loss programme.  While I believe the programme is one of the better diet and exercise programmes on the market in Australia, for me, it had too much leeway, allowing me to tailor the weekly menu to suit my food preferences, those that were high in carbohydrates and sugar.  There were weeks that I stuck to the programme 99% of the time and exercised, yet the scales didn’t move significantly.

While I have lost some weight over this time and maintained the loss, I just haven’t seen changes relative to the effort I have put in.  It got me thinking that perhaps there was an underlying reason why the weight wasn’t shifting.

On a Tuesday evening while flicking through the channels on TV, I happened to come across a juicer demonstration.  They were demonstrating the Hurom Pro 400 Juicer and were discussing the benefits of juicing.  Of particular interest to me was the fact that this juicer was a cold pressed juicer which preserves the maximum amount of vital nutrients and enzymes in the fruits and vegetables.  This means the juice can be stored in the refrigerator and kept “alive” for up to 48 hours.

The following day I put in an online order for the Juicer.  I knew I would need some juicing recipes and started to do some online research for some recipe books.

I came across a book titled ‘Raw Juice Can Save Your Life’ by Dr Sandra Cabot.  I downloaded this to my Kindle and read the book on Wednesday night.  Dr Cabot talked about  the benefits of daily juicing and the book was a really interesting read.

On Thursday I downloaded one of Dr Cabot’s other books titled ‘Fatty Liver, You Can Reverse It’.  On reading this book, I knew I had many of the symptoms outlined, which indicated that I have a Fatty Liver.  It is caused by incorrect diet, excess weight, alcoholism and diabetes (though I don’t have diabetes and am not an alcoholic).  Most people with a fatty liver in general feel relatively unwell, experience fatigue and find it very hard to lose weight.

Thankfully Dr Cabot says that a Fatty Liver can be reversed.  One of the methods Dr Cabot suggests is drinking raw vegetable juice on a daily basis.  I finished the book in a day and on Friday, continued to do some more online research on Juicing and the benefits and somehow found a link to Joe Cross’ Documentary titled ‘Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead’.  I found a link on you tube which I emailed to myself and after work that day sat down and watched it.  If you are interested, you can view it on You Tube.

Wow, is all I can say.  I was left extremely amazed, inspired, revitalized and knew that I had to give Joe’s principles a go.

I can’t believe that in the space of 4 days, I had not only been introduced to juicing but had also come to the conclusion that this was the path forward for me.

The count down was on to the arrival of my juicer.  I couldn’t wait to get started.

There were obviously a few thoughts in my head as to what my family and friends were going to think of my decision.  My first hurdle though was to convince my husband that this is something I should do.

What better way to get him to watch ‘Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead’.  We sat down together on Sunday afternoon and watched it.  I didn’t say much throughout but having watched it for a second time reaffirmed to me that this was the way to go.

Dave looked at me when it finished and just said “Wow, that was amazing and it makes so much sense”.  We had a chat about how well both Joe and Phil had done on their juice fasts.  Dave then said “Babe you can do it too”.  What more could I ask for but the love and support of my husband.

Now Dave in himself is absolutely amazing.  After turning 40 in November last year, he made the decision about 4 months ago to get fit and healthy.  He has been so disciplined and motivated on his journey and to date has lost a whopping 28 kilos.  He is about 5 kilos away from his goal.  He started running daily and built up little by little and is now running around 11km per day.  I couldn’t be prouder of him.  He hasn’t been juicing, but sees that this would be a great tool to maintaining his weight loss in the future.

I can’t wait to get started.

You can read ‘My Story’ for further information about me.

Leave a Reply

