Day 4

day 4So, day 4 has been my best yet.  I had a great sleep and woke up feeling really refreshed and not a hint of a headache.  I really hope that this is the last I’ll see of the headaches.  I must admit I am a bit worried how I’ll go once I’m on my juice fast from Saturday, I hope the headaches don’t come back.

I started the day with the most amazing juice of half a beetroot, 3 mandarins, 1 Green Apple, 4 Carrots, half a lemon and a knuckle of ginger root.  Definitely my favourite combo so far and a great way to start the day.

I had made a batch of pumpkin soup the night before and had a portion for lunch today which really hit the spot.  I am enjoying what little bits of food I have been having over the last 4 days.  Apple and Berries in the morning, my salad or soup at lunch and usually some sweet potato and cumin baked oven fries in the evening, and of course some juices throughout the day.  To think that that luxury of food is nearly up, I do have my reservations as to how I will cope with not having anything to crunch in my mouth.  But I am determined to give it my best shot.

I have only told my husband and daughter and two friends that I am on this venture.  I will let more people know once I’ve got it down pat and can cope.  You’ve got to love it when one of those friends texts and says she’s got a big bag of grapefruits and oranges for me.  Last weekend she gave be lemons and green apples.  I feel very spoilt.  Who knew one could get so excited over fresh fruit.

My biggest challenge for today was to cook my daughter’s evening meal.  I made a chicken teriyaki stir fry with noodles for her.  It helped that I wasn’t particularly hungry at the time, but the aromas wafting up did have an effect of me.  I had left over Pumpkin Soup which I heated and enjoyed as soon as I was done.  It really wasn’t too much of a big deal.

I am proud of myself that I have stuck with this 100% so far.