Reboot – Day 1

OK, so as not to confuse you, but I am starting again at day 1, as I’m now officially on my juice fast.  It was going to complicate things (mainly for me to keep track) if I was to start at Day 6.

I was awake early today.  I lay in bed until I could see the sun coming out as It was a cold and wet morning in Perth (we are in Winter here in Australia).  I got up and dressed around 7.00am and headed straight into the kitchen to juice.

JuicingI worked out which juices I was going to make for the day (Joe’s reboot recipes) which included:

Sunrise Juice – Beetroot, Carrot, Orange and Apple (x 2 serves)

Mean Green – Kale, Spinach, Cucumber, Celery, Green Apple, Ginger, Lemon (and a slice of Pineapple) (x 2 serves)

Apple/Pear/Blueberry Pie – Sweet Potato, Apple, Pear and Blueberries (x 1 serve – my dessert)

Having pre-washed all my fruit and vegies after purchase, before packing away, I find that it makes preparation prior to juicing fairly quick.  My juicer does require me to chop up the fruit and veg prior, but it isn’t too much of a bother.  I am finding it quite therapeutic juicing each day.  It makes up for the time that I am usually in the kitchen cooking everyday.

We had my nephew’s 2 year old Birthday Party to attend today.

Before we left I packed 2 jars of juice and water (with lemon) into a cooler bag, along with an ice brick to keep everything cold.

It was really tough to resist the food and drinks on offer at the party.  There were all the usual party favourites, cakes, lollies, hot savouries, birthday cake etc.  But I stood with a glass of water in hand while I caught up with family and friends, politely saying no as the platters of food came past.

We had a fairly long drive home and my husband and daughter decided they’d like to stop to get some takeaway Sushi Rolls on the way home, so of course I obliged.  Sushi is one of my favourite foods, but I resisted.  Thankfully I had one of my juices to tide me over.

I can’t say that I experienced particular hunger today, nothing that water didn’t take care of anyway.  It helped to keep myself hydrated during the day.  While it was tough coming up against those temptations, I can’t say that it was a particularly hard day.

I LOVED all my juices today.  I was so thankful to find that I was able to substitute Peaches for Pears and Blueberries.  Seeing all my Reboot friends in the Northern Hemisphere enjoying their peach pies got me rather envious.

So day 1 down and as I know that I can handle temptation, I want to keep going.

Leave a Reply

